The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the FPN Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

Custom "esterbrook"

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Frank_Federalist_Pens

Frank_Federalist_Pens

"Federalist Frank".....(Was "FrankieX" here)

• FPN Supporter - Platinum

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,715 posts

Posted 16 December 2009 - 05:47

I have been admiring custom pens for a few years.

I finally got my own this year! I present the
“Apple Estie”, A custom pen with an Esterbrook J section.

I had been playing with this idea all year. I posed the idea to Chris Hughes (Appleman) back in the summer. He told me it would be feasible to make this pen. He just needed a section! The whole idea was to have a pen where the nib could be changed.

I finally took the plunge about a month ago. At the beginning of November, I shipped an Estie J section up to Chris. He made the pen, and the turn around was less than two weeks! It took longer for this pen to arrive in the states, than the time it took for me to ship the section, and Chris to make it! (Two weeks in transit!)

Needless to say, I LOVE THIS PEN! It will be part of my daily rotation for many days to come! It has become my favorite Esterbrook! A squeeze-filler (P21?) has been utilized as the filling mechanism, and it works great!

Frank

"When, in the course of writing events, in becomes self-evident that not all pens are created equal"  (Federalist Frank)

Federalist Pens and Paper  (Online Pen Store)

facelogo.png

Use Forum Code "FPN" at Checkout to Receive an Additional 5% Discount!

Sponsored Content

#2 liapuyat

liapuyat

Pelikan Fan

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 900 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 16 December 2009 - 06:21

Beautiful pen! How much was the customization? Just curious.
"Luxe, calme et volupte"

#3 Frank_Federalist_Pens

Frank_Federalist_Pens

• 1,715 posts