Discussion on stub, italic and music nibs

marklavar

I would like to initiate a discussion about italic, stub and music nibs. Which are the best, the smoothest? What about line variation and breadth?

I'm contemplating the purchase of a stub (or italic or music) nib, but I'm pretty new to the whole thing and am seeking advice. I've had good reports of the Stipula 0.9mm stub, but would like more feedback on these types of nib in general.

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• TheNobleSavage

• marklavar

• TimButterfield

• scogre

Top Posters In This Topic

I don't have any experience with music nibs, but between cursive italics and stubs, I prefer the smoothness of stubs for everyday use. It's been my experience that stubs require much less care when squaring the nib to paper, so I can jot quick notes and write at full speed while still getting great line variation. Cursive italics give better variation because the horizontals are spidery thin and thus, with sharper corners.

I'm not sure about Stipula italic nibs, but I know that some factory italics are really more like stubs with slightly more rounded corners. I think this is the case with Conway Stewarts if I'm not mistaken. I'm sure a certain Dutchman might know a lot more as to how Stipulas compare to other custom nibs.

You should definitely take the plunge for a nice italic/stub though - they are so much fun!

"I have striven not to laugh at human actions, not to weep at them, nor to hate them, but to understand them."

- Baruch Spinoza

Hi Mark,