Parker 51

Moose

I have a Parker 51 Aerometric that I purchased off EBay a short while ago and (after some minor cleaning and very amateur restoration) it appeared to be a very nice pen. I have noticed, however, that if I don't use it every day, when I take the cap off the pen, there is some leakage into the cap.:( I would assume the pen is leaking through the nib, though I am not sure how this would happen when the pen is nib up. I am thinking about sending it into Richard Binder, but I wanted to check here first to see if there might be another problem that I could handle myself. Please keep in mind that I am relatively new to fountain pens :blush: , but would be willing to try most repairs on this pen becuase I got it extremely cheaply. All you Parker 51 aero pros out there: Please Advise. Thanks!!

Well for you, if you wrestle on, for in persistency lies victory, and with the morning may come the wished-for blessing. But not always; there is a struggle with defeat which some of you will have to bear, and it will be well for you if you have cultivated a cheerful equanimity. Remember, too, that sometimes 'from our desolation only does the better life begin.' Even with disaster ahead, it is better to face them with a smile, and with the head erect, than to crouch at their approach. And, if the fight is for principle and justice, even when failure seems certain, where many have failed before, cling to your ideal, and, like Childe Roland before the dark tower, set the slug-horn to your lips, blow the challenge, and calmly await the conflict.

--"Aequanimitas" William Osler

Valedictory Address, University of Pennsylvania, May 1, 1889

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• JimStrutton

• Moose

• kirchh

• Ron Z

Top Posters In This Topic

I can think of two things that may be it.

If the pen is too full the you can get expansion in the collector and that can end up in the cap.