Duofold Nib (it was meant to be brand 'new') >:(

kissing

My father doesnt usually let me spend much on pens, but these days in Australia (Melbourne), the big department store called "Myer" are having a massive "History-making" clearance sale on all stocks. I was just dropping in at the department store to pick up my Sheaffer Converter which I had ordered in and waited patiently for 4 weeks until something caught my eye...

A Duofold (Black Platinum) that was originally $750AU (around $566 US) was marked down to $300AU (around $226 US). What a bargain I thought! A new Duofold on display for less than half its price (I guess the store had trouble selling such an expensive pen). So I told dad about it and he thought for a while.

http://www.pencity.com.au/images/duofoldfpplatinum.gif

I am a highschool student in my final year at school, and he had previously promised me that if I got into the University course I wanted to get into (Medicine), he would get me a Duofold (what a way to motivate a son to study hard :lol:) So since it was a great price, he decided he'd buy it beforehand for me and only give it to me once I got into the University as a graduation gift :)

However, when we looked at the nib, there were signs that it had been inked before :o (Ink stains on the feed) and the store owner said that people in the past may have dipped it to sample it. I was outraged! HOW CAN THEY LET CUSTOMERS DIP A DUOFOLD AND JUST PUT IT BACK INTO THE DISPLAY WINDOW! For all I know, that pen could have been lying there for years with dried up ink caked in the nib. Nevertheless, the store worker washed it with a wet cloth and we thought we would send it into Parker separately and tell them what has happened. (The store worker said that we had to send it in ourselves to Parker >_<)