I was trying to buy a Krone Moderne FP off eBay recently . . . I've wanted a Krone for some time, and this one was in a beautiful translucent purple. Per my usual strategy, I tried to 'snipe' it by bidding at my max during the last 10 seconds of the auction. Unfortunately my max didn't exceed the max of the current high bidder, so I lost the pen. Darn.
A few days later, I got an e-mail (purportedly) from eBay, saying I now had a Second Chance offer on the pen, and offering to act as the intermediary between me and the seller. Unlike other obvious scam e-mails I have gotten in the past, this one seemed like it could be legit . . . it used my eBay ID directly instead of a generic "dear eBay member"; the sending e-mail address seemed to be from eBay (though I didn't do any kind of techie snooping); there were several links in the e-mail directly to legit eBay pages; and it referred to a lot of correct details like the auction number and item I had lost, my losing bid, the seller's eBay ID, ,etc. While obviously all of these could be faked, none of the previous spoof e-mails I have gotten included this level of detail.
I played along and responded to the e-mail, saying that I wanted the pen and would wait for payment instructions from eBay. Honestly, when I first got it it seemed so legit that I assumed it was on the level (maybe that was wishful thinking taking over!) Today I got a response instructing me to send a Western Union moneygram to a specific address in Italy and also some rather complicated instructions on how I would then receive the pen in X number of days; would have Y number of days to inspect it and respond to eBay that it was satisfactory; that if I responded in the positive the payment would then be forwarded to the seller, but if I responded in the negative I would receive a full refund; about how I was to ship the item back if I didn't accept it; etc, etc.
Of course by now I realized that this looked fishy so I (finally) went to the eBay buyers' message boards and looked up the process for Second Chance offers. This e-mail matched exactly none of it (except the part about the Western Union payment, which they specifically said never to do!) Needless to say, I told the seller I was no longer interested, and forwarded his e-mails to spoof@ebay.com.
Be on the lookout for this or other similar scans . . . they appear (to me at least) to be more refined and 'legit' looking than any I've seen in the past.