Help me choose my second fountain pen

Sean Mac

Hi all,

I am relatively new to the fountain pen world, but I think I am hooked. I have been using a Pelikan GO pen for the last few weeks to grade papers (I teach 8th graders). I am looking for something with the same writing quality, but a nicer look and feel.

A number of pens on Richard Binder's site have caught my eye. In particular, I am considering the following pens:

the Filcao Columbia (designed by Richard Binder)

Taccia Imperial Portuguese (or Andante?)

Pelikan M215

About a year ago I purchased a Pelikan M250 mechanical pencil. Would this be approximately the same size as a 200 series fountain pen? I hope not, as I find it hard to use the pencil over an extended period of time.

I have been researching these pens on this site, and appreciate all of the reviews that folks have written. Any comments on the relative merits of the pens above, or any other help / suggestions that you could pass along would be appreciated.

Thanks for your help

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• weepstah

• Sean Mac

• antoniosz

• Michael Wright

Top Posters In This Topic

Sean,

Welcome to the disease of buying, using and collecting fountain pens! (maybe). Based on the pens you've listed, I have a couple of comments -

1) The Pelikan 200 is probably too small. I had a Pelikan M400 Honey and it was too small for me. I find the 600's to be about the right size.

2) I've heard good things about both the Taccia and Columbia - note that the Columbia is a button filler, so you'd need to make sure you have bottled ink available if you are using catridges. Also, button fillers don't hold as much ink as other sacced pens, so if you don't like filling your pen with ink frequently (I do, so I actually like button fillers!) then you might want to think about a different pen.