CS 380 won on Eee-bay

ToasterPastry

I'm relatively new to the world of fountain pens. I have already overpaid for a lot of fountain pens on my favorite electronic auction site? Don't know much about the Conway Stewart. It seemed pretty, so I bought it for $6.95. Can anyone tell me about this pen?

Eeeebay link

<edited to remove dumb-ass question>

post-20881-1224168445_thumb.jpg

Edited by ToasterPastry

http://i303.photobucket.com/albums/nn130/ToasterPastryphoto/pop.jpg

Follow me on Twitter!

Read my silly blog!

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Greg

• ToasterPastry

• QM2

• vermiculus

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Congratulatiosn, actually the 380 doesn't come up that often, plenty of 388s, its very slightly posher brother.

For the money you paid its a bargain (assuming the nib etc is ok) and green marble is very nice, in my opinion. It looks like the hard rubber cap peak has oxidised (not much to be done about this, it can help to 'polish' with T-Cut and then in light domestic oil, can deepen the colour towards black a bit - the section probably survived better) and it would benefit from a good clean up. Presumably a new sac is required.

Let us know how you get on and what its like in use.

Greg

Member of the No.1 Club

So, on that topic what's a 388 worth in good condition? I have one on my "workbench" at the moment, in wonderful condition with a factory fine stub nib, and haven't really got a point of reference, as I have only ever treated CS as eyecandy!

(By the way, if you don't like publicly talking figures, would appreciate a pm for guidance from anyone.)

The best way to find out values is simply to find some on the Dreaded and see how they finish.

Black pens are usually less valued than pretty colours, which in turn are less so than unusual finishes.

A 388 would, I imagine, top out between £20-30, although I would accept others' view on that. I have seen nice examples for more and less.

Greg