Lamy Safari review

el3ssar

Here is another review of the famous Lamy Safari. I know, almost everbody here already got a Safari, but I think another one cannot hurt. I've tried to take a lot of pictures to illustrate my talk. This is my first review here, I hope you'll enjoy it !

First impressions

I bought this pen because I've heard a lot about it since I'm a FPN member. I'm a student, so I was looking for a pen which I can carry in my pencil case without fearing about scratches or anything else. That's why I chose a Safari, it really looks like a tool designed to be carried out and used everywhere.

Design, Size, Weight and Finish

This pen is made of ABS plastic, so it is very light. The clip is made of steel. The pen is textured. It does really look like indestructible. A lot of colors are available, I picked up the black one because I think it adds to the crude industrial design. There a 2 notches for your fingers on the section. The body is not circular, but got 2 flat sides and 2 rounded sides. Plus, there is an ink window in each flat side.

The pen is around 13cm uncapped, 14cm capped and 16.5cm with the cap posted.

The nib and the filling system

I have a black F nib. When I first tried the pen, I found it a bit scratchy and too thin. Plus, the ink flow was a bit weird, and the Lamy black ink a bit grey. I cleaned it and then the ink flow was better and the ink more black.

The nib is less scratchy now, I think it just needed to be used a bit. And I've noticed the nib becomes a bit scratchy as soon as you lean it left or right. But when your nib is "horizontal" (I mean in the right axis, ie. if you draw a line it must be perpendicular to the nib split), it is really smooth. Of course it's not the smoothest nib around, but it respectable for a 5€ steel nib.

The Safari is a cartridge/converter pen. Cartridges are specific to Lamy pens. I haven't tried the converter, so I can't make any comment about it.

Conclusion and overall impression