HERO 156

pmsalty

I've checked the forum and I haven't found any reviews for this pen. I am fairly new to the fountain pen hobby. I have always been attracted to fountain pens but being left handed I was always steered off of them by family and friends.

I recently ran across a old Parker 21 that I had picked up when my Grandfather passed away over thirty years ago. It had been in a box of memorabilia that I recently went though. That story will be for a nother time

Well with the internet I started gathering information concerning FP's and finnaly sent away for one. I'll discuss that sale some other time. My second online purchase consisted of two Chinese pens that I got from isellpens.com. I have been looking at pens for a while and I had some idea of what I wanted. I purchased a Duke Esteem Black partly based on a review here on this froum and I purchased a Hero 156 flighter based only on its looks. The Hero is the pen I am reviewing today.

http://www.forumsigs.com/users/pmsalty//HERO156Flightera.jpg

First Impressions[/u]

The pen is beautiful. the pictures on Todd's website do not do this pen justice! This pen is much more striking in person. It has a beautiflul brushed steel finish. Very impressive right out of the box!

Appearance and Finish

The pen is stainless steel with black plastic holding the nib. The first impression of the finish is that the pen body is substantial and well constructed. The body is smooth, the plastic has no signs of any imperfections and the pen close withan audible click. The cap posts also with an audible click. It has a gold plated clip and bezels with black plastic at both ends of the pen. The nib is partialy hooded.

Design/Size/Weight

The pen as most Here's do resembles a Parker. The 156 resembles a Parker 75 flighter. Very pleaseing to look at. It is a slim pen. The pen seems to be about the same weight as my Parker 21, maybe slightly lighter.

Nib Design and Performance