Noodler's Swishmix Burgundy

hunter186

I recently picked up a bottle of the Noodler's Swishmix Burgundy from Swisher's. I was looking for something reddish and dark that was waterproof, and this seemed to fit the bill. I have to admit that I've had mixed results with this ink, however.

From my Lamy Safari, M nib, the ink flows wonderfully and has lots of variations in shading. It seems to flow very freely, but lacks the "thick" feel that I've found in some Noodler's ink. I'm not exactly sure how to describe this; it seems to feel a bit more watery, like it lubricates the nib a bit less. This shouldn't be interpreted as a complaint at all. (As I'm fairly new at this, perhaps someone could help me describe this in terms more readily understood)

I loaded this ink into my fine-nibbed Pilot 78g with very different results. The pen wrote well initially, but after less than 1/4 page, it got gradually more and more dry, until the pen was not writing at all. I was unable to get it to flow properly at all.

After rinsing the pen with soapy water, I gave it another shot. Now it seems to write rather nicely in this pen. It does have a tendency to dry on the nib, although I suppose this shouldn't be surprising as the Swishmix inks are intended to be very fast drying. The fine 78g has an exceptionally fine point, so that may influence things as well.

I really like the color. It certainly fits what I would picture as burgundy. I don't quite know how to describe the color, but it varies between a brick-red and a dark pink, depending on the paper, pen, and pressure.

I'm still getting used to this ink, but I like how quickly it dries on the page, and it does seem to be working better in the 78g. It may have just needed a cleaning.

Anyone have any experience with this ink? Any suggestion for mixing it with other inks? I wouldn't mind mixing something a bit darker, more of a red-black.

• Replies 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• hunter186

• Taki