Newbie Fountain Pen Buying Advice Needed

kadrock

I'm completely new to fountain pens, but I know I want one. For my first pen, I'd like to keep my total purchase under $30. I've basically narrowed it down to the Lamy Safari Al-Star, the Pelikan Future silver, or a silver Pilot Knight. I'm also considering the Waterman Phileas and the Hero 200 but I greatly prefer the more modern look of the pens I mentioned first.

I've read hundreds if not thousands of posts here. But I have some questions which I haven't found answers to. I hope someone here can help me out.

1 ) First off, is a fountain pen even a viable solution for my intended purpose? I plan on having it in a small leather PDA-type case with my Moleskine. The case will almost always be laying flat and will be carried and tossed around quite a bit. Will a fountain pen, especially those I mentioned, hold up to the abuse?

2 ) Is there an issue with storing a fountain pen in heat? Say, for instance, if I leave my pen and carry case in my car in the hot Florida sun. Will I return to a huge inky mess?

3 ) Of the pens I mentioned (Lamy Al-Star, Pelikan Future, Pilot Knight) which is the smoothest writer of the bunch?

4 ) Which pen of those I mentioned is the most trouble free?

Thanks in advance!

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• AlejoPlay

• jsonewald

• kadrock

• Johnson

Top Posters In This Topic

I have both an Al-Star and a Pilot Knight. I love them both and both have very very smooth nibs. My Al-Star is a fat Medium, whereas my Knight's Medium is more like a Fine.

The Knight is a smaller pen and may fit in your PDA case better than the Al-Star.

The only pen I have experience with out of those three is the Lamy Safari. So I can answer your questions concerning that pen: