Rotring Initial Matte Black Metal Review

southpaw

This is my first review, so please keep that in mind when reading. I am also new to fountain pens, so bear that in mind as well. Please feel free to offer suggestions as how I can improve future reviews (or if I should just give up).

I have shamelessly borrowed categories from KendallJ’s review of his Sheaffer Aspen Balance (thanks) to aid me in the review.

Overall Design (4/5)

The Rotring Initial in Matte Black Metal is a modern design every-day writer. The cap is topped with Rotring’s signature red circle. “Germany” is imprinted on the side near the top of the cap and “APC System” circles the cap bottom. APC stands for Air Pressure Compensation, a system of the fountain pen which Rotring claims prevents ink leakage and ensures smooth writing even during flight.

The most impressive aspect of the cap is the clip, as it is a very well designed spring-loaded clip with a maximum opening of 3.7 mm – wide enough to easily fit over the pocket seam of your blue jeans.

Size & Weight (5/5)

The Initial is a not a lightweight pen given its all metal construction. Posted, the pen feels substantial, though not too heavy (but I like a heavier pen), albeit a bit “tail heavy.” Unposted, the pen feels significantly lighter and well balanced. The diameter of the grip section is nearly ideal ergonomically.

Dimensions on the Initial are:

Pen length

capped = 144.4 mm

posted = 159.5 mm

nib = 17.5 mm

grip = 26 mm

Pen diameter

max = 13.5 mm

uncapped = 134.7 mm

min = 6 mm

grip = 10 mm

Nib (4/5)

The Rotring’s steel nib is smooth and lays down a nice, wet line. It is engraved with “Rotring” and “F” for fine. The nib is rather unusually shaped based on my very limited experience, but it is in keeping with the pens modern flair.

Filling Mechanism (3/5)