Parker Profile (Parker IM in the US)

london

I'd seen this pen on the Parker website, and quite liked the look of it. I'm not normally a new pen king of guy - prefering vintage offerings - but I wanted a readily available cartridge filler for travelling and meetings at work. Its predecessor, the Vector, also never appealed to me. But for the sake of £10 I thought I would give it a try.

And, I've been pleasantly surprised. I've made a few other comments on this pen in other postings, but thought I'd pool them together here for reference.

I've been using this one at work for about two months now.

2006 Parker Profile in black

Launched in 2006 this Parker is known as the Profile in the UK and the IM in the US. It is also sometimes referred to as the Vector MkII.

Appearance

I like the appearance of the Profile. It is quite a simple design, but this gives it a little understated elegance for what is only a £10 pen. It is manufactured from black plastic, chromed to the top of the cap/clip and what I guess is brushed steel to the section and barrel end. On the Parker website the plastic looks almost enamel like. In reality this is not so and is a dull but seemingly sturdy plastic.

The clip design is bold and quite fun, lever sprung, so it pulls out mechanically and always returns solidly without fear of bending it. There is a plastic 'jewel' to the cap top.

Filling

The Profile has the standard Parker system of either their own cartridges or the supplied slide filler.

Feel

This is a reasonably comfortable pen to use. When posted it is a tad top heavy, but I barely notice this now. The section is brushed steel and also quite comfortable. I tend to hold mine a little further up than most, so my fingers and thumb are resting on the point where the section meets the barrel. This is actually very comfortable and gives me something to grip.

The cap didn't fit too well to start, but after a few cappings and uncappings it now caps with an assured and solid click.

Nib