Sailor Sapporo Slim - Metallic Green

Maolo

INTRODUCTION: Ok, first of all, this is the first time I review a fountain pen, so if I mess around a bit or am not perfectly clear...say it and I'll try to improve the review.

A week ago I walked in a pen shop with the idea of looking, maybe even buying a Montegrappa Micra. I wanted a small, lightweight, beautiful pen. The owner being a pen collector/user himself asked me if I wanted the pen for a collection or if I intended also to use it. Being a student I take a lot of notes, so I wanted something I could use. I stated clearly that my priority was the quality, so the owner purposed the Sailor pens. He showed me the Sapporo and the sapporo mini series, in various colours. The choice fell on the metallic green, rhodium trimmed Sapporo (aka Pro Gear Slim). Which btw cost half the price of the micra, with a (really) finer and smoother nib. I took some day to think about this choice and this morning I went to purchase the pen.

1. Appearance & Design (9.5)

So...here we are. The black version is reaaly wonderful, but being 22years old I wanted something...colourfull. Compared to the othe colours available for this serie the metallic green is almost understated, as Laura (Phthalo) said in her blog is a really deep shade of teal with marked blue undertones, just a bit greener than Roher & Klinger Verdigris ink,almost a really deep and dark cobalt green. The violet and orange versions, altough not metallic seemed just too much, for me. The glossy, bright finish suits perfectly the acrilic (?) body of this pen, although I'd have prefered it a little bit less metallic and a bit more solid in the colour departement, JMO.

2. Construction & Quality (10)