I want a FP!

crusher

Hi guys,

First I'd like to say how happy I am that I found this board because I've always been a little interested in fountain pens. I am a college student and I would love to buy a fountain pen to use in my moleskin journal that I write in. So far, I have been using the pilot g-2 07 blue ink. I love the writing of that ball point pen and also how resistant the ink is to water. I have picked up a pack of the pilot varsity fountain pens and have been writing here and ther with them, but I don't like how most of the ink washes off once water hits the paper. I would like to get a beginner fountain pen around $50.00-75.00 would be where I would like to keep it to. I plan on using a black or blue form of Noodler's ink (I would probably like a piston type filling mechanism too) which I have read is basically permament once it adhears and dries. One thing though, I am left handed I'm not sure if that has any factor in choosing a pen but it crossed my mind because anyone who is left handed usually has had pen graphite or ink on the side of their hand after writing for awhile in classes such as math or writing an in class essay in english.

Thanks,

Dennis

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• crusher

• Michael Wright

• JRodriguez

• Melnicki

Hi Crusher,

Pelikan Go! and Level are excellent piston fillers. An upgrade would be a Pelikan M200, which you can purchase with different nibs.

Another possibility is finding a vintage Parker "51" or "51" Special. They are aerometric fillers, very reliable and versatile.

Welcome to the addiction!

Alejandro

I've gotten a number of people hooked on fountain pens by handing them a Lamy Safari. The Safaris are a very firm nib though and this bothers some people.