How often to clean out pen?

sonnenblume

How long is too long to not flush out a pen?

Does having ink in it matter?

What if you filled it with ink, removed the ink, but just never flushed it with cold water?

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• sonnenblume

• vhild

• Ink Stained Wretch

• inkstainedruth

How long is too long to not flush out a pen?

I don't know that there's a hard and fast rule about this, but it's a good idea to flush a pen if you're going to put in a different ink from what it had had in it before. Other than that, some say a few months between flushings is all right, some say don't flush unless you have a problem. I know that I had been using Noodler's Black in a pen for almost two years there when I finally flushed it out. The pen has been writing better since that flushing.

Does having ink in it matter?

Well, the old ink is what you're flushing out. I'm not sure I understand this part of the question.

What if you filled it with ink, removed the ink, but just never flushed it with cold water?

Then the ink residue that's still in the pen would dry out in the nib and feed and also in the reservoir, whether that would be a rubber sac, a cartridge or the barrel itself.

If you're going to take the ink out of a fountain pen and not refill it again right away it's really best to clean and flush the pen. Otherwise you'll face problems from dried out ink when you go to use it again.

On a sacred quest for the perfect blue ink mixture!

ink stained wretch filling inkwell

There was this recent thread about cleaning *too* much:

https://www.fountainpennetwork.com/forum/in...showtopic=10065

Either way, I do flush my pens out very thoroughly when changing inks.

Edited by chainwhip

Geaux Tigers! Visça el Barça!

WTB: MB Kafka, Lamy Safari 2009 Orange, Pilot MYU (Black or Clear/White Stripe), Seiko FrankenTuna SKZ253 / SKZ255