looking for a fountain pen

rabbit_39

Hello all,

I am new in the fountain pen world and need your help in selecting a good quality pen, preferrably around $60 or so but I can go to $75-$100. I will be carrying this every day, write journal entries and I have a habit of twirling/playing with my pens

What I think I'm looking for in order of importance:

- not have ink everywhere, in the cap etc

- good writing characteristic and balance. I'm trying to improve my hand writing

- inexpensive

- slimmer in profile

- simple, fairly unadorned

- good line variation

- I write smallish, I think I need a fine nib?

Thanks,

Andre S

Ps: lots of great info here, you guys are great!

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• HesNot

• amin

• memphislawyer

• rabbit_39

Top Posters In This Topic

The line variation piece may be a stumbling block in that price range without getting something less expensive and having a nib meister grind it for you.

Consequently, for a tad more another suggestion would be a Pelikan 200 with a custom fine stub or italic nib from Richard.

However, if you're just starting out with pens, I might stay away from a more exotic nib at first and go with a basic fine and reserve the different shapes until you have a better idea of your writing habits, likes and dislikes. To that end, however, a Pelikan 200 is still good choice since you can always by a custom nib for it at a later date!

You may also consider the Pilot Knight which is a very nice and slim pen that has received some positive press.

If you're willing to consider vintage a Sheaffer touchdown filler can be found for a reasonable price and a TM (thin model) would fit the bill nicely. An admiral or crest, even a snorkel, can be found well within that price range and they are uniformly nice and easy to write with pens.

Another vintage suggestion would be a Parker "51" or 21, which somewhat started the slimmer pen trend. Understated and well made.