All Activity

This stream auto-updates

1. Past hour
  2. Hello from a fellow Irishman. I myself am also practicing for about a year, so I'm no expert, but here are some observations, FWIW, along with tips/advice that have helped me. The first thing I notice is the lack of regularity, especially in the descenders. Also, while your writing slants, this too is varied and nor regular. While I can read some words, generally I struggle to read your writing. Some words are a squiggle with no definition. Things that helped me : Learning to "round off" my letters, one letter at a time. Practicing each letter individually, both capitals and small. Writing on lined paper and practicing keeping my letters on the line. Practicing an even and regular slant. You can get guide writing paper for this, or lightly rule your own lines in pencil, as I did.
  3. marlinspike

Montblanc at the Fountain Pen Hospital

I think you're absolutely right that they are doing the watch model (or is it the LV model? Not sure who started on that path first), but I also think it doesn't bode well for them that they have been selling watches for almost 30 years now, yet still nobody cares about Montblanc watches and Montblanc is still having to force retailers to carry the watches if they want to carry the pens. Of course, all it would take is some watch influencers to push Montblanc like they did Cartier and suddenly they'll have demand. I don't think the model will ever work for the pens (it's going to be hard to get bitcoin bros and executive technical advisors at big tech to care about pens), but that's probably why they are selling watches, headphones, and backpacks now, so it will work out for the company even if it kills the pens.