stuck nib, total beginner

bea

Hello!

I've been reading back posts and feel almost confident to start taking my new/old estie to bits. However I've fallen at the first fence... the nib seems totally stuck. I've been soaking the nib up to just over the start of the section but it doesn't seem to have helped much. Plus, when I tried to twist it out, I think I maybe just twisted the metal nib bit and not the dark plastic (feed?) bit behind it. I really don't want to knacker it completely but I don't know what else to do.

Any advice from you veterans?

Thanks in advance.

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• bea

• EventHorizon

• Ron Z

• Robert Hughes

Top Posters In This Topic

Remove the section from the pen body. Soak the section with nib overnight, in slightly soapy water. It's usually just a matter of getting old dried ink wetted again.

The moment we want to believe something, we suddenly see all the arguments for it, and become blind to the arguments against it.

~ Bernard Shaw.

Hi again...

I tried soaking overnight, but when I unscrewed the nib, the feed and metal nib bit came out but the screw setting stayed firmly in place! I've pushed them back in, but do I just have to make my peace with this nib or is there some way of getting the bit out?

B

I really don't want to knacker it completely but

I like that :thumbup:

Pictures might help but when you removed the nib from the pen/barrel did it look like the attached picture (black or green threads don't matter) or do you have the metal nib itself and the comb (picture) in your hand? If it's variation #2 (pieces in hand) there could be a problem. If you have pieces in hand my first guess is that some one glued the whole nib into the barrel/section.

Edit - Pictures courtesy of Richard Binders web site.

Edited by EventHorizon

Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent.

Isaac Asimov, Salvor Hardin in "Foundation"

US science fiction novelist & scholar (1920 - 1992)