Sheaffer 100 Review And Pics

linuxid10t

Well, guys, this is my first post here on FPN, but I have lurked a bit in the past. Anyway, I posted this to reddit earlier, but I wanted to post it here too.

Link: http://imgur.com/a/zivGg

http://i.imgur.com/aNdbaQs.jpg

Pen: Sheaffer 100 Chrome

Nib: Medium (larger than I expected)

Ink: Sheaffer Skrip Blue (Slovakian)

Paper: 20 lb copy paper

Writing sample

The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dog.

Thoughts and Notes

This is only my second fountain pen, and I'm kind of new at this so thank you for the support. That being said, the first thing I noticed is just how wide this is for a medium nib. In comparison to my Parker Urban, it is quite a bit wider.

Parker here -> Not quite as wide

Going on, it is also very wet and smooth for a $29 stainless steel nib pen. I really enjoy how heavy it is, but when it is posted, it is practically unusable. Right now I'm just using a cartridge it came with but I like the piston converter it comes with and the thought it was lubed out of the factory. I have also been pleasantly surprised about the included ink since there are mixed reviews on it. Lastly, the clip is tight, and when I mean tight, I mean REALLY tight. That being said, it makes me feel comfortable while I'm riding my motorcycle with it.

Enjoy!

http://i.imgur.com/cmtjyUI.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/EdOlUUN.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/FvkWaRu.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/WOUpSoG.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/DJk07uV.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/uMbmmFT.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/GnRK2pn.jpg

Edited by linuxid10t

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• linuxid10t

• Vendome

• lovemy51

• jacksterp

Nice review.

How do you find the grip section? Is it slippery or become slippery with extended use?

Fool me once, shame on you.

Fool me twice; damn

There goes that fox again.

linuxid10t:

Great review and photos. This is a pen I was interested in and your review has helped me make up my mind.