Mont Blanc Meisterstück Le Grande Mechanical Pencil

longweight

I hope that this review is ok, it is my first so please do give me some feedback if you feel that I need to do a better job! I have tried to follow the forum instructions as well as I can.

INTRODUCTION:

I received this pencil for Christmas from my father, it completes the set that I have been hoping to own for a few years now, the other two pens being a 149 Meisterstück ballpoint and EF fountain pen. All are Le Grande size, I have quite large hands and in the past I have found that smaller pens make my hands hurt after prolonged use. The Meisterstück pencil came in the standard Mont Blanc box and warranty booklet.

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8218/8419016851_d7fca7b20f_b.jpg

WP_20130127_001 by alongweight, on Flickr

Appearance & Design (9/10)

The 149 mechanical pencil has a classic design which I love, my first Mont Blanc pen was the ballpoint which is resin with gold highlights and therefore I picked a matching fountain pen and mechanical pencil.

The Le Grande pencil is only available with 0.9mm lead, the standard size version is available with 0.5 or 0.7mm leads, it would be nice to have a choice with the Le Grande, I prefer 0.5mm lead but my major priority was the larger body size.

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8465/8420116066_4466e50c53_b.jpg

WP_20130127_008 by alongweight, on Flickr

A very nice detail is found under the lid, a punched or laser cut lead diameter in the metal casing, this is offset nicely by the crosscut (gold?) eraser holder.

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8052/8420116582_19e6127937_b.jpg

WP_20130127_020 by alongweight, on Flickr

Weight & Dimensions (9/10)

The pencil weighs ~50g with the rubber and 8 leads which is a very comfortable weight, I've used it for 3 hour exams and the weight was not an issue. The pencil measures 15cm in length, this matches the fountain pen when it has it's cap screwed on.