Fester

Scrawler

Dear denizens of Estieland, I have been slaving away over hot corpses in the laboratory, taking bits of this and tacking it to bits of that. This is Fester. He is bald, ugly, scarred, has claws and is very eccentric but has a heart of gold.

The body of the pen is a black Bell Systems Esterbrook J. At some point someone scratched the Bell Systems imprint off leaving bad scarring. I have tried to show it in the pictures, but I am not an expert photographer. The jewel was gone, so I made one from brass. The nib is a size 14 Banks, which is very flexible, and is so large that the cap will no longer screw all the way on. You can imagine that getting a nib this big into a carrier was quite a challenge. I used a Venus carrier, because the 1970's plastic is more flexible and can be distorted by heating. This trick is not possible at all with any of the original Esterbrook collars. The feed is from a #2668 and has been modified to flow more ink as the tines open up. I cut two parallel channels as auxiliaries to the main channel. These are normally covered and blocked, but when the tines lift they allow more ink into the main channel. This makes for a very nice juicy pen.

http://i751.photobucket.com/albums/xx153/FPWriter/fester4.jpg

http://i751.photobucket.com/albums/xx153/FPWriter/fester3.jpg

http://i751.photobucket.com/albums/xx153/FPWriter/fester2.jpg

http://i751.photobucket.com/albums/xx153/FPWriter/fester1.jpg

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Scrawler

• dhosh

• amberleadavis

• spaceink

That is totally beautiful. Excellent and imaginitive work. I love the way it writes.

"Don't hurry, don't worry. It's better to be late at the Golden Gate than to arrive in Hell on time."
--Sign in a bar and grill, Ormond Beach, Florida, 1960.

IT'S ALIVE!

IT'S ALIVE!!

IT'S ALIVE!!!

;)

"Celebrating Eight Years of Retail Writing Excellence"