De Atramentis Document Blue Permanent

lemanfan

OK, this is my first attempt at an ink review, and I'm fairly new to critically reviewing pens and ink, so bear with me

I recently acquired a bottle of De Atramentis Document Ink BLUE and after not finding any other reviews decided to make my own.

http://www.elenfors.com/images/pens/inktest1-out3.jpg

To start with, it's a nice blue ink. Not overly saturated like e.g. PR DC Supershow Blue but somewhere in the middle of the line. For me, it behaves well on both Rhodia 80g paper and on cheap copy paper of the same weight. Pens used here are the Lamy Safari with fine nib and a Jinhao 159 with a medium nib.

Do note that I'm not a scanning pro and therefore cannot guarrantee the color correctness of the images:

http://www.elenfors.com/images/pens/inktest1-out1.jpg

http://www.elenfors.com/images/pens/inktest1-out2.jpg

My first attempt at testing the permanence of this ink was also the color comparison paper. After letting it dry for about 30 minutes after writing the first line, I dipped the right half in soapy water for 15 seconds, and then rinsed it for about the same time.

http://www.elenfors.com/images/pens/inktest1-out4.jpg

I got the ink from http://www.thewritingdesk.co.uk which sells it for £9.29 at the moment. (no affiliation). For the prices I can buy stuff here in Europe, a 35ml bottle of this ink cheaper than I can get a bootle of Noodlers, so per milliliter is is cheaper than the Luxury Blue I compare to (30 ml bottle), but more expensive than the Old Manhattan Blackety-Black Black (90 ml bottle).

Conclusion: Well... it can handle water. It's nice to write with. I like it.

I'm very open to suggestions on how to improve the reviews and the comparisons. Also new ways to torture the permanent inks. :)

Edited by lemanfan

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• lemanfan

• david6

• raging.dragon

• inkstainedruth