Dearest Friends and Visitors of the Fountain Pen Network,
We have started implementing the changes we promised here: Upcoming Changes To FPN
Please do read the linked message above.

Photo

Fountain Pen Care

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 kma335

kma335

Near Mint

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 16 September 2012 - 02:49

Hi,

I'm new to fountain pens and I was just wondering what I should do when I'm not using a pen. I've read that I should make sure that the ink is out and the pen is thoroughly cleaned before putting it away, but where should I store them? Are these pens in any way affected by temperature or humidity? I have purchased the Jinhao 159 and Kaigelu 356 as starters and I'm thinking of storing them in a pencil box of their own.

However, I have Lamy Blue ink as a starter ink, and I've heard that it's easy to maintain. Would it be okay if i left this ink in the pen? I'm not sure how often I'll switch between the 2, but it might be between a week or 2 after I've used them both for a while.

How long should ink be kept in a pen that goes unused that would still be fine for the pen?

Thanks!

#2 guilhermejf

guilhermejf

Rare

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 194 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 16 September 2012 - 03:01

Some pens can be stored inked for quite a long time (a year or so) without drying up. In general, most pens can be kept unused for at least a month without great trouble. So don't worry too much about it.

Temperature... Just don't leave the pen in a hot car, for instance.

Edited by guilhermejf, 16 September 2012 - 03:03.

#3 langere

langere

Antique

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,756 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 16 September 2012 - 03:03

Great questions! You can keep ink in the pen if you're going to use it in a few days. Otherwise, do clean out the pen with cold water from the faucet before you store it.