When Was A 2-Oz Bottle Skrip Cost 29 Cents?!

shiaokun

Or a dollar fifty?!

Hi, newbie here,

I came across some old Skrip ink and was really amused by their price.

The two bottles on the left have dried out. The bottle on the right with $1.50 tag still has most of it left (yeah!)

Can anyone tell me when did a bottle cost 29 cents or a dollar fifty? And how about that 4-oz bottle? I'd like to know their vintage. Appreciate any info...

post-89946-0-19021900-1345248936.jpg

post-89946-0-29698900-1345248949.jpg

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• sexauerw

• mrcharlie

• shiaokun

• welch

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Well, in the US about 25 years ago, I remember paying $2.00 for a bottle of Sheaffer Green in an old-fashioned stationery store which is long gone ( the same as the one on the right of your photo marked $1.50). I also remember a few months later spilling the whole bottle. :gaah: Finally bought an exact replacement a couple of years ago--from an FPN member--cost perhaps $5 to $6 I think.

Edited by BobR

If memory serves, and these days it doesn't really, but the $1.50 looks about right for the mid to late 60s, maybe early 70s.

Inflation was gearing up in those days. You'd see a price sticker covering up the old traditional price more and more.

Edited by escribo

I may not have been much help, but I DID bump your thread up to the top.

Well I did some snooping about and it looks like that 29 cent bottle may well be from the 1930's - Here's a url that has a wee bit of info - you'll need to scroll about 1/2 the way down the webpage to find the article. http://www.jitterbuzz.com/indkni.html#skrip

"Minds are like parachutes. They only function when open." James Dewar

http://i49.tinypic.com/2j26aaa.png