My Ahab Is Possessed

Flake

So I know you've seen me whining about my ahab since the day it arrived. I've cut fins, I've moved the feed, everything. No matter what it kept choking and sputtering if even that much ink. I finally threw it in a drawer in disgust.

I found it today and holy cow! She lives!

I've left ink sitting in this thing. It took about a second to start and then BLAM. This pen writes freaking great! I now see everyone's recommendation. This writes the way I hoped it would when I ordered the thing.

Has anyone had this happen before? A pen randomly working for no reason and nothing different?

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Cerbeos

• USMCMom

• Ad_Astra

• Flake

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

I am no expert or very knowledgeable, but I have read here on FPN, that some feeds need to ... well, sort of soak in the ink. Can't tell you that this is true for all, but I had another pen (not an Ahab) that didn't want to write and I just set it aside and when I picked it up about a day and a half later, it was fine. I'm hoping that our more knowledgeable members will either say it's true or it's myth and that what happened with the other pen I had, was pure luck.

Glad it worked for you!

Mine has had a full converter full of BSB in it for about 2 weeks, coming to and from work with me in my pen wrap, and it'll still skip.

Time to clean it again and try a more neutral ink.

http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/606/letterji9.png

I've had this happen too; it seems to just be an awkward combination of pen and ink that keeps the ink from properly saturating, so I would get miserable skipping. Randomly, after a day or two of sitting unused, it just started working.

/Shrug. Black magic?

Non est ad astra mollis e terris via. - Seneca

I've had issues with my Ahab as well. At first I thought the pen was just a bad one in the bunch.

But I learned that Noodlers #41 Brown just doesn't flow well in this pen.