Montegrappa Extra 1930 Rollerball

Braindrain

Ok, I'm still fairly new to the pen world and - don't judge me here - work in a world where FP users don't exist. So, there are a few folks with nicer pens and rollerballs, but no FP. And, I personally prefer the RBs.

I had found this site a few months before and, as a result, decided to purchase a Omas Bologna rollerball. That was a beautiful pen with the resin having a depth that was similar to celluloid. But, those words "similar to celluloid" had me wondering. That is, how does it really compare to celluloid?

That question started my small quest to buy a celluloid pen that I liked. As I started looking, I found out there are many different celluloid styles that are characteristic of different "eras" of pen manufacture. I finally settled on the Montegrappa Miya or Extra 1930. I thought the Miya in turquoise was exquisite. However, I did think the colour was too close to my Omas Bologna and I really just couldn't get over the "hump" design. Then, the Extra 1930 just really spoke to me. I just loved the design, thought it was a large and portly pen but not too much, and was just amazed with the turtle brown celluloid. However, the one downside was the MSRP. After some searching, I finally found what I was looking for.

First impressions - The pen came in a really heavy ash wood box. The inside is lined in leather and came with a leather "placemat" (for lack of a better term) and a polishing cloth. Very impressive.

http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/nn56/Braindrain232/Pens/mon8.jpg

http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/nn56/Braindrain232/Pens/mon7.jpg

http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/nn56/Braindrain232/Pens/mon6.jpg