Edison Pearl

requiescat

INTRODUCTION:

This pen has a mildly dorky story behind it, which is that I wanted to write a space opera novel (I am a short story writer) and I needed incentive. I had some money saved up for a fountain pen and I decided that if I could finish a rough draft of the novel, I would reward myself by ordering a custom pen. I'd done some research and was pretty sure I wanted to try an Edison, so I went with that. Also, I wanted something that could be a workhorse pen and the bulb-filler's capacity sounded awesome (plus the mechanism looked fun). Anyway, I finished the rough draft, I ordered the pen, and then for frivolity's sake I asked for an engraving that is the emblem of one of the characters.

...what. I write science fiction, I'm already strange.

I had seen people take pictures of Edisons being unboxed. The box is some kind of faux leather, I think? I can't tell, and it seems to be a nice box, but any reasonably sturdy box would have been fine with me; I am not good at noticing packaging. Everything was carefully bundled up, which I liked, and even better, there were some instructions for how to use the bulb-filler. (It would have been easy to figure out, but still, instructions are even better.) It came with a small thing of silicone grease, which I am not sure what to do with, but I will look it up.