Looking For Small Paper And Envelopes

robynsnest

I don't really know what I'm asking for since I'm new to this and don't know brands and such. I would like to find some quality notepaper and envelopes in a small size. By small I mean like the letter and envelope paper they use in Masterpiece Classic Downton Abby. If you haven't seen the show it is set in the early 20th century - maybe that will help place what I'm looking for. It seems what they're using is about 3" x 4" for the envelope and maybe 3" x 9" for the paper (it's tri folded in the envelopes). I'm guessing on sizes based on what I've seen. Perhaps these are standard sizes that I'm unaware of but if anyone can help I would much appreciate it.

I ordered an Eleanor Winters learning Copperplate kit and would love to have some of this stationery once I learn the writing technique.

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• robynsnest

• ehoh

• jbb

• arcaneradio

If you can't find the size you're looking, you can have any paper custom cut at most print shops. As for the envolpes, you could make your own with a template if they are not availble. Which episode of Downton Abbey did you see it in?

Here's a chart of envelope sizes:

http://www.leaderpaper.com/info/size_chart.php

Edited by jbb

I have seen these in almost every episode but they show one in a letter box in the opening credits and Lady Edith used one when writing to the Turkish Embassy about Kamal Pamuk (sp?).

Ah, one of my favorite subjects--letter paper! First, I should tell you that the smallest mailable envelopes in the US are 3.5 x 5" (that's a USPS regulation). The smallest mailable size is called 4 bar in the US. If you don't need to mail your letters, though, that's a different matter...

Perhaps you are referring to this letter? Though it is difficult to ascertain the size from the photo, alas.