What Is The Japanese Fountain Pen Company Quality Hierarchy?

punchy71

I am a newbie to Japanese fountain pens. What is generally considered to be the hierarchy of quality among Japanese fountain pen manufacturers, ranking the best quality at the top tier to lower quality at the bottom?

Thank you

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• AltecGreen

• ethernautrix

• JustinJ

• Jezza

You're going to get a lot of different answers to this question. And, when all is said and done, it comes down to opinion. Pesonally, I rank them Nakaya/Platinum, Namiki/Pilot, Sailor. Others will rank them exactly opposite. Others still will put Pilot first. My suggestion is buy one of each and make your own decision. They are all great pens (I have multiples of each and love them all.) Unless you are buying the lowest entry-level pens, it's hard to go wrong with any of these three.

You're going to get a lot of different answers to this question. And, when all is said and done, it comes down to opinion. Pesonally, I rank them Nakaya/Platinum, Namiki/Pilot, Sailor. Others will rank them exactly opposite. Others still will put Pilot first. My suggestion is buy one of each and make your own decision. They are all great pens (I have multiples of each and love them all.) Unless you are buying the lowest entry-level pens, it's hard to go wrong with any of these three.

Thank you for the truthful reply. I have to agree with this. The big three have been named, but even my order would be different, just because my experience has been biased. I've never handled a Sailor, only a medium tier Platinum pen, and Pilots all over. I have no doubt that each of these companies have models that are equals, in terms of quality and price, so I'd be hardpressed to put them in any specific order. They are like triplets. All about the same in terms of what they can do, but vastly different in what they offer so that each company is unique on their own.