Parker Vacumatic Junior

Delphideo

Parker Vacumatic Junior Grey Pearl

For a long time I avoided vintage pens either out of fear of them being expensive or fear of me buying a lemon that I'd end up having to send to repairs. Here on FPN a certain name came popping up when referring to vintage pens and that was the Parker 51, but I never did like the style, however I immediately fell in love with the Vacumatics. They're just so aesthetically pleasing with their gradiating bands and translucency. I finally decided to buy one for myself. This pen is one of the restored pens from Richard Binder's monthly special tray. I've no affiliation. I'm not an expert on these pens, but someone completely new to them at the moment of this post, and I hope that through the eyes of a newbie to such a wonderful pen I may help others who are also thinking on purchasing a Vacumatic.

Appearance & Design (9/10) - Glorious celluloid in gradiating silver and black

This pen is almost 70 years old and it does show some wear, especially in the clip and bands, but I think that just adds to its beauty. That such an object was used way before my time and is perfectly functional leaves me in awe. Personal awing aside, the pen is a dark traslucent celluloid pen with gradiating horizonal grey bands that give it a sense of movement and speed. The clip is the split arrow model with little to no chrome. The cap includes two thin worn bands near the bottom of the cap. The chrome here is also gone, but it doesn't detract from the pen's beauty. I think it actually looks good for its age. Upper part of the cap sports a squat faceted design. The cap also has two neat holes at the side. It definately looks like a design feature and not something added later by an owner. Ventilation, perhaps? The pen is from the third quarter of 1946. (Thanks for the clarification, jar!). My score reflects on the pen itself and I'm not deducting points from expected wear.

Junior Capped by Delphideo, on Flickr