Montblanc 149 (F) And Pilot Custom 823 (F)

APHK

Introduction

I have been using fountain pens since my school days many years ago but stopped using them a few years ago after losing a couple of expensive pens in quick succession.

My interest in fountain pens was resurrected recently after I had decided to learn Chinese writing and hoped that a fountain pen would add some fun to this endeavour.

So off I went to window-shop at some of the few remaining pen shops (non-boutique) in Hong Kong. My first target was a Cartier Pasha since I was so pleased with the Cartier that I had previously used. With the inflation in pen prices in the last few years, the price of at least USD700 left me in shock and so I wanted to find something cheaper.

My search eventually led me to the Fountain Pen Network and the library of reviews with mouth-watering photographs opened up a whole plethora of targets that included many brands that I were not familiar with.

Eventually I settled for a Pilot Custom 823 with fine nib as a demonstrator-type pen was a novelty to me and also Japanese fine nibs were well-suited to writing Chinese characters.

Having played with the 823 for a week or two, I was craving for another pen. Further browsing of the FPN site (almost daily for the past month) piqued my interest in Pelikans. I was considering either an M800 or M1000 but was put off by the prices as I had already spent USD200 on the 823 and thought that I was splashing out too much. Nonetheless, I wanted to try out a Pelikan as the reviews were so full of praise for their superior nib quality and smoothness of their pistons.

A Pelikan 215 with bold nib was therefore added to my collection of 2 new fountain pens. I picked a bold nib as I wanted something opposite to the Pilot fine.