Lamy Al-star, Coffee Finish

CowboyBlue

Lamy Safari Al-Star, Coffee. Fine Nib, Pelikan Bright Brown Ink.

I went on a Lamy spree last week, and boy am I hooked!

I wanted three pens for school; I am a teacher, and I need a red pen for grading, a black pen for signing tardy passes, and a blue pen for my general notes and everyday writing. I wanted something relatively inexpensive, since teachers' pens sometimes "walk away." :glare: I didn't want to subject any of my vintage Parkers, Pelikans, or Crosses to life in my satchel or my desk drawer at school. So inexpensive and new, and not vintage, was the order of the day!

I did a little research and was somewhat surprised at the glowing reviews that the Lamy Safari and Al-Star consistently garnered here in the forum. So I thought, why not, go ahead, Cowboy, and pick up a few for the ol' everyday user category.

I found an ebay store that had a number of Lamys at lower prices than I had seen advertised, so I quickly chose a Charcoal Safari (love the black clip and black nib!), and a red Safari (what else would I use to write " - 5: incomplete sentence. Make sure that your answers are in the form of a complete sentence, and don't forget to provide textual evidence for your claims" on student papers?). But then I ran into trouble looking for my blue pen.

I had wanted one of the Silverblue Al-Star pens that several had mentioned and reviewed in this thread. I love that color, since it reminds me of the color of the Dallas Cowboys' helmets (my nickname is CowboyBlue after all! :clap1: :rolleyes: ). But they only had Extra-Fine nibs for LEFTIES! I had not even realized that such a pen was made. I considered an Ocean Blue, but that was just “too” blue for me.

Then I scrolled down the page and saw the Coffee Al-Star.

Wow. What a great-looking pen! It was not blue, but I wanted it! So, sacrificing my master plan for pen and ink color coordination, I decided to take a leap of faith and try out the Coffee Al-Star.