Merlin Merlina

jomielll

Although I'm still quite new at 6 pens I decided to post this review since I haven't seen many mention of the Merlina. Please feel free to give me any feedback.

Appearance & Design

The Merlina is a celluloid pen, I bought the storm gray color from richardspens.com. I had purchased it together with a Pelikan m205 and Richard had placed both pens in the Pelikan box--when I opened the box the Merlina seemed quite small, even though m205 is on the small size too.

The golden band and clip on the cap is very slightly polished gold, giving it a great vintage look. The celluloid is smooth and the gray design quite random, so when I post the pen the different streaks matching up gives the optical illusion that the pen is crooked :o

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4115/4894392615_382a407b28_z.jpg

I like how the nib is small to match the small pen:

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4078/4894394391_61645ee604_z.jpg

Construction & Quality

I have dropped this pen a few times and it's also ended up at the bottom of my purse, seemed to survive well so far. It's a great size for a purse pen!

Weight & Dimensions

The Merlina is smaller than the Merlin, here are comparisons with a Pelikan m205, Pilot Decimo, and Esterbrook LJ.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4138/4868357064_91285be627_z.jpg

It is not that much smaller in the length than the other pens posted but is much slimmer.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4136/4868357348_b1d14aa4f2_z.jpg

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4123/4894987612_3364786e33_z.jpg

I like to post my pens and the Merlina has great balance posted. Unposted it feels a tad too small and too light.

Nib & Performance

Richard's Merlins and Merlinas are F-XF and either semi-flex or full flex, and mine turned out to be a XF semi-flex. It's a 14k 585 gold nib. The nib is smooth and has slight feedback if I'm writing on a single sheet of paper. I am enjoying my first semi-flex a lot!