Nakaya Brair Gloss Type

daryllwin

Hi everyone

Here’s my review of my Nakaya Brair Gloss.

I’m just starting out with my pen collection, and decided to get a Nakaya as my grail pen.

I liked the look of the Brair model, but wanted to have a gloss protection layer on its surface, hence the gloss type. Can’t understand why they have to charge $150 more just for the gloss layer.

Anyways, I placed an order on their website, and they sent me an email telling me to go to their dealer in Singapore, Aesthetic Bay. When I went there, I realized they didn’t stock Brair wood pens, so I had to get back to them and requested for them to make the pen.

After a month and a half, it finally arrived.

First impression (9/10)

The pen came in a nice white box full of bubble wrap. Inside was the standard Nakaya wooden box. The wood used to make this box is really light, but it serves its purpose well.

http://i796.photobucket.com/albums/yy242/daryllwin/Nakaya/P8010007.jpg

Inside it, there was my pack of 10 free ink cartridges, the international cartridge converter, the pistion converter and of course, the pen wrapped in a nice cloth bag.

http://i796.photobucket.com/albums/yy242/daryllwin/Nakaya/P8010008.jpg

Unwrapping it, I finally saw my long awaited grail pen.

http://i796.photobucket.com/albums/yy242/daryllwin/Nakaya/P8010011.jpg

First look at the pen( 9/10)

The pen has a flawless gloss coating, and the outside of it is pretty much as I expected. The gold clip is nice and shiny, and the wood grail makes it look very classy IMHO. The pen seems to be made from separate pieces of wood, with the top of the pen not matching the bottom.

http://i796.photobucket.com/albums/yy242/daryllwin/Nakaya/P8010012.jpg

http://i796.photobucket.com/albums/yy242/daryllwin/Nakaya/P8010013.jpg

Opening the pen(7/10)