My First Fountain Pen As A Adult

SidandNancy

Hello all

I'm fairly new to FPN, but wanted to tell you a little story about how I came to be an avid FP user. Like most people of my generation, I learned to write with a FP in primary school in the 1960's, once I had graduated from pencil. Being left handed this caused all manner of smudging problems, but unlike other "lefties" who twisted their wrist around to prevent smudging, I simply turned by book sideways, so instead of writing from left to right, I write vertically - and still do to this very day regardless of what I'm writing with. Alas, no longer have these FPs from my childhood, and once in secondary school, the FPs were replaced with biro's.

Fast forward to 1988, when I went to university as a "mature aged student" at the ripe old age of 26. This of course was pre lap-tops, and in my efforts to write down every word my lecturers said verbatim, I developed a strain injury in my left hand. The physiotherapist who treated my hand suggested I use a fountain pen so that I wouldn't need to put pressure on my hand when writing............and so began my love affair with FPs! :cloud9:

As a poor student, I wasn't exactly flushed with funds, so after much searching and testing, I found a pen that suited me perfectly; the German made Ero. I think I paid about $50 for it at the time, which was over half of my weekly government student payment. I wasn't aware of brands back then, all I knew was that I loved the look and feel of this lovely little pen. As an added bonus, it was a piston filler, so I would also save money by not having to buy cartridges.

http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/cc31/lmrk5705/Pens/IMG_1699.jpg

http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/cc31/lmrk5705/Pens/IMG_1704.jpg

http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/cc31/lmrk5705/Pens/IMG_1703.jpg

http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/cc31/lmrk5705/Pens/IMG_1702.jpg

http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/cc31/lmrk5705/Pens/IMG_1701.jpg