69 replies to this topic

#1 jkrewalk

jkrewalk

I Love Pens

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 800 posts

Posted 20 February 2008 - 02:22

I have been collecting pens for many years (click here to see my collection) and can't help but notice that certain brands start reliably time after time regardless of the model purchased.

Now, when I talk about "starting" I mean ink begins to flow instantly as soon as the nib touches the paper without skipping. It just writes instantly like a ballpoint - but smoother of course. And the world's best pens will do this even after sitting in my case for 2 weeks or more!!!

In my opinion, examples of the world's finest starters are Bexley, Pelikan, Waterman, Sheaffer, Sailor and Mont Blanc. I own multiple examples of each of these brands and they never fail to start regardless of the model. Watermans are especially reliable - the ink virtually never runs dry even after as much as a month of sitting idle.

Nothing is more embarrassing (or worse for our "fountain Pen Image") than taking out a pen in a meeting and have it not write!!! I do not care how expensive the pen is or how great it looks - if it can't write as well as a 10 cent BIC that will start every time then it is worthless. After all - it is a pen - it's sole purpose in life is to write! Surely I am not asking too much?

I have read posts on here that suggest keeping a small jar of water at your desk or wet sponge to help "start" a pen. To me - that is unacceptable. In order to be a good pen it must write every time without any "help". If it dosen't, it should be returned for repair until it does.

Would love to hear other comments on this subject....

John
Krewalk.com

#2 PigRatAndGoat

PigRatAndGoat

Unashamed Montblanc Fanboy

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,278 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 20 February 2008 - 02:32

QUOTE(jkrewalk @ Feb 19 2008, 09:22 PM) View Post