Private Reserve Black Cherry

amin

I am pretty new to fountain pens and very new to inks, so I'm not the ideal person to do a review. Since writing this review, I've come to realize that two things I like less about this ink are that it dries on the slower side and even sometimes smudges when dry. Oh well, take it easy on me, this is a first try. I tried to adjust the color in Photoshop so it matches what I am seeing.

post-35-1129590845_thumb.jpg

• Replies 45
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• tooloose-letrek

• amin

• KCat

• Velma

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Thank you for this. That looks very nice indeed. I will see if my local ink seller carries that color. I haven't seen it before, so it must be new.

Great review - THANKS! Love the color, but as a leftie, I couldn't handle slow drying and easy smudging.

"But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us." (Rom. 5:8, NKJV)

Thank you all for the kind words. It's a unique color I've been using quite a bit. Southpaw, glad I could help you avoid the smudgefest!

Nice review. I love this ink. I use it in my favorite Parker 51 as my standard combo for grading papers. It's much warmer than standard reds and is therefore less harsh. Hey, when you're giving kids bad news you might as well do it gently. I haven't really experienced any drying issues...yet.

Good job on the review. I bought a bottle about a year ago at the Paradise Pen store in Troy, Michigan. It lives in a Sailor 1911 with a fine nib. I like the ink because it still looks very contrasty when applied with a very fine nib. You are correct about the long dry time, you have to be careful not to smear the ink, but the results are worth it IMHO. BTW if anyone makes it to the Paradise pen store in Michigan, ask for Kathy and tell her Larry sent you. Great lady, but she has collected altogether too much of my money!