Graf von Faber Castell Pen of The Year 2006

Excoriar

How I got this pen is that I was actually out shopping with my brother for a present for my mom's birthday, and just saw this pen in the display case. Now I've only seen this pen on the web and in books but it had never crossed my mind to go look for it nor to attempt to purchase one. Strange how events in life just happen. Anyway, this is my first attempt at a review, so please bear with me.

First Impression:

Heavy pen, but the wood and the ivory feel warm, a stark contrast to the cap which is platinum. Quite a big pen. The box it came in is a nice white laquered wooden box that is also quite heavy.

Appearance:

Looks like a big solid pen. The black and white really stands out. There's a nice grey-ish window that allows you to see how much ink you have left. I think it's better than the one on my MB 149 as there's more space for me to see.

Design:

Typical German engineering (for me anyway): Precise and tight. The clip aligns with the ivory, everything is just so tight and precise. Under the clip are ridges that prevent the pen from just sliding out, but will probably damage your new silk shirt. Need to becareful when removing the pen from the shirt or jacket. But it's a heavy pen, so putting it in your shirt will cause it to sag, but I noticed that the pen is long enough to reach the bottom of the pocket. Also do not believe that posting will be an issue as they use plastic on the inside of the cap so as not to scratch the end cap. However, while posted, the balance of the pen goes backwards toward the end of the pen and it's even longer than my MB 149. I like the balance of the pen unposted. The girth of the pen is about the size of the MB 149.

Nib:

Seems like a stiff nib. Haven't really tried it out yet. But from my experience with the other Graf pen, it may need a bit of breaking in.

Filling System: