I Want An Esterbrook

grrtt

Hey all you Estie experts,

I'm a fountain pen noob, but after reading around the forum about Esterbrooks, and subsequently shopping around on ebay, I've decided that in the near future I might like an Esterbrook in my collection.

I'm probably opening a huge can of worms here, but what should I get and why? What's a good model for a first Esterbrook experience? Also, what should I pay for it? Any other recommendations?

-grrtt-

nibwise.wordpress.com: One man's journey toward fountain pen enlightenment.

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• OcalaFlGuy

• Chouffleur

• pajaro

• Charles Rice

A standard J in your favorite color is a great way to start. I'd look for a nicely restored one (polished, new sac, good nib). Look for a 9xxx series nib as they are "osmiridium" tipped - harder material that has probably withstood the years better (though there are still plenty of brand new ones available).

The J is the largest size (though I would call it average in comparison to the whole world of fountain pens).

I believe there is a good seller of restored Esterbrooks on Etsy.com, though I can't vouch for them. I have read good things about their work, however.

My favorite Esterbrook is a blue SJ - the tiny size goes well with a tiny journal and is easy to carry around. My second choice is a demi-size dollar pen, but I have small hands and appreciate just what a nice pen these little guys are.

If you can't find one for really cheap or free at a garage sale or from some older friend, you are not trying.

Better to get hooked on these than something much more costly. They are American too.

"Don't hurry, don't worry. It's better to be late at the Golden Gate than to arrive in Hell on time."
--Sign in a bar and grill, Ormond Beach, Florida, 1960.

• 1 month later...