Advice On 2Nd Fountain Pen

Pen_andy

Hello

I am a newbie, so I plead for patience...

The story: I have a Pelikan M800 for the last 25 years and use it regularly for day to day writing. I write a lot of mathematics (being an acedemic), and one of the things that always annoyed me was that when making corrections in texts or simple annotations etc., I would need to switch to a ball pen or pencil as of course there is only 1 colour in the pen. I once bought myself a cheap Waterman pen, but found the nib unplesant, the pen too light and the converter wobbly. Now is the time finally to consider buying a second and maybe third pen (I am thinking of blue or/and red inks).

The questions:

1. By your experience, if you change fountain pens frequently, I mean back and forth within minutes, is this a problem if the pens are not the same? Of course I could buy just a second/third M800, but would like to consider other models.

2. I do not like the idea of a converter but would prefer to stay with a piston, that restricts my choice considerably. Is this rational? My father had a Montblanc converter about 15-20 years ago that leaked a lot, he exchanged it a few times but it did not improve. I like to take them on planes and they get shaken quite a bit during transport on trolleys. Are the converters not too wobbly/leaky for that?

3. I like a pen about the length (can get longer but not shorter than a few mm), diameter and weight of the M800 and would look for something comparable. I would also not want to break the bank (aka known as attracting the staring eye of my wife), so it should not really go much beyond £400 ($600 for those on the other side of the pond). Do you have any suggestions of a suitable pen - ideally one that is even availble in the UK to physically try out rather than relying on internet orders? This is meant to be a pen to work with daily and not one to put in a showcase to look nice.

Thanks all for your help.

Andy

• Replies 13
  • Created