Inks For Esties?

Lovely_Pen

So I'm still pretty new to vintage pens and I was just wondering if there were any types of ink I should avoid using in my Esterbrooks (due to the sacs)? So far, I've only inked up my Esties with Mont Blanc Daniel Defoe Palm Green and Organics Studio Foggy Bottom--both of which seemed like safe bets.

I have some Sailor Jentle ink though which I'd love to use too, but because they have such a chemical smell to them, I wasn't sure how safe they would be in a sac/lever filler pen. I have a bottle of J. Herbin Stormy Gray but I couldn't imagine trying to clean out all the bits of sparkles...

Many thanks for your advice!

μὴ ζήτει τὰ γινόμενα γίνεσθαι ὡς θέλεις, ἀλλὰ θέλε τὰ γινόμενα ὡς γίνεται

καὶεὐροήσεις. - Epictetus

http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/606/letterji9.png

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• OcalaFlGuy

• mmg122

• SteveE

• pajaro

You shouldn't have a problem using most inks in the pen. The nib unscrews so you can soak and flush the nib separately.

The main problem I find with pens that have ink sacs is they take longer to clean out, so stay away from inks that are difficult to clean out.

If you have more than one, you can dedicate a pen to the reds which are usually difficult to flush out, another for lighter colours and another for blacks and dark colours.

The general advice is to stay away from Private Reserve BSB in a sac filler.

It is generally accepted that most any Very saturated ink will lessen the life over time of a latex sac.

This can possibly be minimized by not letting loads of ink dry in the sac and perhaps pulling the nib and flushing all the saturated ink out every couple months if the pen is in steady use.

Most of us that regularly use Very saturated inks accept the possible latex sac issues and use them anyway.

I also would not generally[1] use BSB in an Estie but mainly because of it's staining over it's affect on the sac.