My First Luxury Pen -- Suggestions.

MikeGB

So for those that haven't read my introduction post, I'm a student. Next year I'll be getting my loan for living expenses and since I don't go out drinking every weekend, I'll have money there to spend on something more sensible... like a pen I'll keep either for the rest of my life or at least a large chunk of it!

So, that in mind, what would you suggest?

I am thinking a Pelikan.

M600 or M800, maybe an M1000. I really need to look at the differences and people's experiences with them.

A Montblanc would be nice, but I don't know if I could justify the money right now while I'm not working. I always thought if I got a signing bonus when I graduate at my first job I apply for a graduate scheme, I'd treat myself to a 149.

Any suggestions appreciated!

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• MikeGB

• torstar

• jar

• The Blue Knight

Top Posters In This Topic

What is a luxury pen for you?

Something expensive? Something made from special materials? A specific manufacturer? A limited edition? A classic design?

What is a luxury pen for you?

Something expensive? Something made from special materials? A specific manufacturer? A limited edition? A classic design?

I'd say a combination of those things, but luxury is typically determined by the price and the price is typically determine by the qualities that justify the price (Though, of course, brand name often contributes towards that but I don't think it discredits the merits of the product itself).

Pelikan is always a wonderful choice. Which Pelikan will depend on your personal taste and writting.

Since you are a student, I suggest checking out MB Starwalker. It a sporty pen with the little white star on it and it should be on the price range of the larger Pelikans.

Also Visconti makes beautiful pens with excellent nibs in that same price range.

The M800 is a great pen for its niche in price and quality.

It's big but not superbig.