• Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• JDV

• sargetalon

• Rick Propas

• kelleher

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I'm not an expert. For the clip, it looks a M400. If it says W. Germany (can't see on the picture) it was manufactured in the 1980s, otherwise 1990s.

Regards,

AM

It´s a M400 old style because it´s very similar cosmetically to the Pelikan 400 from the 50´s, produced from 82 to 97.

The pen is complete, all parts are there. Check inside the barrel and you will find the spindle and the gasket / they can be seen in the picture inside the barrel actually.

Pull them out, insert them in the rotating piston, grease the gasket with come silicone grease and push back the piston/spindle/gasket unit back in to the pen and you should have a working pen again.

Edited by piscov

Best regards
Vasco

http://i1330.photobucket.com/albums/w580/Vasco_Correia_Pisco/INGENIVM-PC/Avatar/simbolo-e-nomesmall2_zps47c0db08.jpg

Check out "Pena Lusa by Piscov". Pens added on a regular basis!

Link for Vintage Montblanc pens here

Link for Vintage Pelikan pens here

Thanks again, I was afraid it was broken now I'm excited to have a working pen. Any idea as to the dollar value?

These older M400's are great pens. If I may ask though, how did you manage to get the piston assembly out of the pen with the spindle and gasket retained in the barrel?

To answer your last question, these are frequently encountered in the $150 range. Sometimes they go for a bit less and if they have a particularly desirable nib, sometimes a bit more.

PELIKAN - Too many birds in the flock to count. My pen chest has proven to be a most fertile breeding ground.

fpn_1508261203__fpn_logo_300x150.jpg

THE PELIKAN'S PERCH - A growing reference site for all things Pelikan

Sarge, I think the spindle and gasket dried in the pen after yewars of non-use. Thank you for your valuation...pretty much what I expected. Haven't written with it yet, but I'm anxious to as it will be my first Pelikan.