Not Sure If Fountain Pens Are For Me – Can’T Find A Good Writer

Danny Kaffee

I am new back into the world of fountain pens. From 1999-2003 I collected a number of Parkers (several Duofolds, 51’s, Sonnet’s) but then sold nearly everything off by 2003. I still have a Sonnet FP and three 51’s from that time.

Recently I decided to get back into the fountain pen world. I’m an attorney and write frequently and I love the look and nostalgia of a good fountain pen. But here’s my problem—I can’t find a FP that writes smoothly and reliably.

Here’s what I have (some purchased recently) and why they don’t work for me:

Parker IM – Medium nib. Fairly smooth but appears to have a case of baby’s bottom (it’s a hard starter)

Parker Sonnet – Medium nib. Feels scratchy.

Platinum Balance – Medium nib. Feels scratchy.

Pilot Metropolitan – Fine nib. Feels scratchy. (Ordered medium nib but received fine. Have returned and expect a replacement to be sent).

All of the 51’s – Feel scratchy.

Here’s the kicker—I have a Pilot Varsity FP that cost $3-$4 and it’s the best writer of the bunch. But I don’t like its cheap and non-traditional look.

Does anyone have advice as to what I can get that will feel smooth with a medium nib that’s around $100 or less? BTW – I prefer traditional looking FP’s. I’m not looking for something like a Lamy Safari or most of the TWSBI’s.

I’d also like to add that I don’t think it’s my writing style. I have a pretty light grip and pressure, and, as stated above, the Pilot Varsity feels pretty good. Perhaps I should get a tune up kit and polish the nibs so they feel a bit smoother? I’m perplexed.

Edited by Danny Kaffee

• Replies 87
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Danny Kaffee

• prf5

• wspohn

• ac12

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Hello Danny..

Have you considered a Pelikan? I think the new Cafe Creme m200 would look nice in your setting.