What Do Fountain Pen Owners Do For A Living?

PDW

Chatting to the nice man from Omas at the Cambridge Pen Show last Sunday, he told me that after ‘professional’ people – lawyers, accountants, etc. – the most-represented group among his customers was IT people. It can’t just be that they can afford the prices, can it (GBP 250 as special show price :unsure: )?

Anybody care to speculate why IT people use FPs, or to suggest other potentially over-represented professions?

p.s. I’m a qualified accountant and a Computer Science lecturer, so I count twice over.

p.p.s. my dean of (Computer Science) school, two of my associate deans and various colleagues use FPs - and half of them use Lamy Vistas

• Replies 296
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• marcelo

• fountainpenlady

• OcalaFlGuy

• flyshot

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I'm a professional bionerd (bioengineering) and still finishing my degree. I use fountain pens because I love all the parts and resins and I spent a lot of years as a jeweler before I went back to do this degree, so I really love working on 'fiddly' things. I use fountain pens because I like the control they give me over my writing and I love the endless permutations of ink + pen + paper + nib + ambient humidity + etc etc.

I don't know if the fact that my original education was in EECS, would qualify me as IT (though I don't work in the field anymore and hopefully won't ever need to again :P ).

I also like the facts that fountain pens can be hugely fun and quirky and occasionally conversation starters, and that I can take an unloved unwanted piece of 'junque' and refurbish it into a useful and beautiful object that will outlast me by a significant margin.

Edited by AnnieB123