A User Versus A Collector?

corgicoupe

I got my first pen [a Parker 51] when I graduated from grammar school in 1951. I had and lost a couple of Esterbrooks between then and now, but I bought two Sheaffer Targas in the 80s and inherited my dad's Parker 51 vacumatic in 1990. My mom gave me a Parker Duofold special edition in the early 90s to cheer me up after a divorce. Since then I found a Parker 45 in a desk somewhere, purchased another 45 earlier this year, and my daughter gave me an Aurora Tu as a gift. Of a sudden I got interested in fountain pens again. So, I asked a garage-sale-nut neighbor to keep an eye out, and he gave me a Sheaffer 350 that I re-saced and use quite regularly. Then a woodworking friend asked what else I did for hobby time and I said I liked fountain pens. He offered me two 1930s-era vacumatics, which I sent off for minor restoration. Now comes the question...

Who among you considers themselves a user, and what then is a collector? Is this a continuum or is there a clear line of demarcation? I have a friend who is clearly a user, and he has only one fountain pen, a DuPont. Well, he has two, but does not like the way the Montblanc writes. At the other extreme, I have read that there are those who collect but rarely use their pens, and may not even restore them, just display them.

If one is a user and has 10 or 12 fountain pens, and may purchase 2 or 3 more [i would like to have a Pelikan like the one I bought my wife when she completed her PhD], what is the best way to make use of this small collection? Do you have a pen that is used for a single purpose, like signing documents, and another for keeping notes in a small notebook, and another for writing letters? Or do you use one or two on an everyday basis for everything, and then swap them for another pair to be used for another month or two? Or do you have many pens filled with different inks for different purposes or moods?