Less Is More: Having Just One Inked At A Time...

sirgilbert357

I'm still fairly new to this hobby (since about Nov of 2014 I think), so when I first got involved, I saw my pen collection blossom in fast forward and I went from having one FP to having something like 7 or 8. No big deal in of itself, but they were ALL inked! I barely have time to write...maybe 15 to 20 mins a day and very little on the weekends. So, naturally, this was a bit much.

I started carrying just one pen per day on my person and one other one in my workbag, with the intention of draining each one through focused usage. I used them one by one until they were dry and then cleaned, rinsed, dried them and put them up. I just finished emptying out my Pelikan last night and realized I had NO pens with ink in them. It felt strange...and liberating, LOL. So I filled my Pelikan and my Parker 45 and will just use those TWO only until they run out...but will focus on just using / carrying one at a time, with the other being a backup in case I run out away from an ink supply. It feels great! There's no more of this "OMG, which pen should I pick to carry??? Uh, screw it, I'll take them ALLLLLLL!". I guess I'm evolving in the hobby a bit. Am I normal??

LOL, anyway, just wondering if anyone else has been where I am? I feel like having one pen in my shirt and one in my workbag is all I really need right now...and it feels pretty good.

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• sirgilbert357

• jar

• redisburning

• Downcelot

That's fine. When I was a student, I only had one fp. Now I keep more than a dozen inked because I like to have a variety of nibs and inks at hand for a variety of stationery and moods and occasions.