Indestructible Pen For Someone Who Writes A Lot?

enzio

Hi!

I'm looking for a good fountain pen. I'm a high-school student, I write very much (I use up a Platinum Preppy cartridge in about 2.5 days!), and I'm relativley new to fountain pens, I've only used a Preppy. I take apart/fix/modify/lose/break/bite my pens. So most of my pens are short lived... (I already managed to crack my Preppy after a week of usage) So I need a good pen in the $20-$30 category. I also have quite small hands. I live in Middle Europe. And I want a kind of a "cool" pen, but not too flashy, though this isn't a priority. I also like fine nibs. I also need the pen to support cartridges.

• Here are the pens I've tried out in shops: Platinum Preppy: Currently using this one, I like it very much, but I want a better one. ~$3
  • Lamy Safari/Vista/Al-Star: Didn't really like it, grip wasn't too comfortable, and a bit ugly. ~$22
  • Sailor High-Ace: I really liked this pen, especially the very fine nib. But the metal and plastic combination wasn't especially nice, and the plastic felt cheap. ~$15
  • Parker Urban: Nope! ~$60
  • Parker Vector: Very nice, liked it very much, but the metal grip wasn't too comfortable, and I'm sure, that I would bite on the plastic end, and the cap wouldn't fit anymore. ~$60
  • Parker Jotter FP: This one was my favourite! The plastic grip was comfortable, it was small but fitted into my hands, looked cool. ~$60
  • Pilot MR/Metropolitan: Was a bit bulky. And was only avaible in gold, which I didn't like too much, but otherwise a great pen. ~$40
  • Kaweco Sport: Just plain ugly, and uncomfortable. ~$30

(The prices are the prices of the pens in the shops, but I would order the pens from eBay.)

So what do you think? And other recommendations? Any tips/tricks?

BTW, is Luxor's quality as good as a normal Parker's?

Thanks very much!

Edited by enzio

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• enzio

• Mercian

• Skyppere

• mirosc