Heard Noodler's Was Subpar.

Mullen88

I'm new to the FP game and when in getting my first pen I was told to stay away from Noodler's inks. The merchant even went so far as to say he "would never let that ink touch his pens."

Any truth to this?

What do you all think and should I discard this recommendation?

Keep your nose clean and your nib wet.

-Mullen88

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Mullen88

• SeeksAdvice

• amberleadavis

• TheGreatRoe

Yes, you should absolutely discard this ludicrous statement. A high number of members use Noodler's ink including myself, and they get extremely good reviews on this forum.

They came as a boon, and a blessing to men,
The Pickwick, the Owl and the Waverley pen

Sincerely yours,

Pickwick

As much as I would say to disregard it completely. You need to make an inform choice. Noodler's inks are very different from other companies inks in that within the range there are inks with different chemical proprieties and can cause different reactions to different materials. Most other companies inks are more or less the same in terms of chemical proprieties across the full range. Certain Noodler's inks have been known to have a bad effect on certain pen materials while at the same time, certain pen companies actually recommends the use of that particular ink in some of their pens. (Not their full range) So the better question to ask is is this Noodler's range safe for such and such pen?

From The Sunny Island of Singapore

Straits Pen Distributors and Dealers of Craft Rinkul, JB Perfect Pen Flush, Ohto Japan, Parker, Pelikan, Pilot Pen, Private Reserve Inks, Schrade Tactical Pens, Smith & Wesson Pens, Noodler's Ink LLC Pens, TWSBI Inc and Waterman in Singapore

Disclosure: I do nib work for others and am affiliated with those which do. I also sell and represent certain brands of pens.

I will note the following: